Embassy of the Republic of Kenya in Stockholm

with accreditation to Denmark, Finland, Iceland & Norway

About Kenya

Kenya is a Sovereign Republic with a Multi-party democratic State. The Executive power is held by the President who is elected by direct popular vote on a second Tuesday of August after every 5 years to a maximum of two terms. The winning candidate in Presidential elections must get more than half of the votes from 47 Counties of Kenya. The President of the Republic of Kenya is the head of state and head of Government of Kenya. The president leads the executive branch of the Government of Kenya and is the commander-in- chief of the Kenya Defence Forces.

All sovereign power belongs to the people of Kenya and shall be exercised only in accordance with the Constitution. The people may exercise their sovereign power either directly or through their democratically elected representatives. Sovereign power under Kenya’s Constitution is delegated to the following State organs, which perform their functions in accordance with this Constitution: –

  1. Parliament and the legislative assemblies in the county governments;
  2. The National Executive and the Executive structures in the county governments; and
  3. the Judiciary and independent tribunals.

The sovereign power of the people is exercised at: –

  1. the national level; and
  2.  the county level.