The national language of the Republic of Kenya is Kiswahili. The official languages of the Republic are Kiswahili and English. The State shall: -


  1. promote and protect the diversity of language of the people of Kenya; and
  2. promote the development and use of indigenous languages, Kenyan Sign language, Braille and other communication formats and technologies accessible to persons with disabilities.