Government of Kenya

Kenya Tourism Board



Visitors: 1109572
Home arrow About Kenya arrow General Information

General Information 

Kenya is located astride the Equator on the East Coast of Africa. It covers an area of 583,000 sq km (225,000 sq miles), about the size of France. Kenya has a common border with Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, Uganda and Tanzania.  Strategically located, she is an economic hub and a natural gateway to Africa’s major trading blocs the Common Market for East and Central Africa (COMESA), the East African Community (EAC) and to export markets in the Middle East, Europe and Asia.

Endowed with a rich heritage of scenic and contrasting beauty and abundant wildlife Kenya is among Africa’s premier tourist destinations. Among her many unique features is The Great Rift Valley which bisects the country from North to South and which is  graced by world renowned lakes that are havens for the pink flamingo.  Extinct volcanoes in the Rift valley provide one of Kenya's most magnificent physical features. In addition to the wide range of wildlife reserves, spectacular scenery, unlimited opportunities for recreation and sports, luxury hotels, game lodges, resorts and comfortable housing are available insecure luxuriant suburbs.  Kenya enjoys a pleasant and favorable climate all year round.

Since independence in 1963, Kenya has held regular parliamentary elections every five years. Further, through dynamic and concerted efforts, numerous gains have been made in improving governance and democratic structures and institutions. Kenya has a vast, vibrant local and international media presence and a vigorous civil society. Economic policy reforms by the Government buttressed by highly skilled labor, modern infrastructure have been key in the remarkable growth and development in various sectors in the country. GDP has grown has grown from 2.03% in 2003 to 6.1 percent in 2006.

Kenya is a strong advocate of multi lateral diplomacy. She is host to the Headquarters of two UN bodies the United Nations Environment Program (UNEP) and UN-Habitat.   Kenya is also home to 66 Embassies/High Commissions, 19 Honorary Consulates and 46 International and Regional Organizations.  With other member States of the African Union, and IGAD, Kenya has played and continues to play a central role in efforts to find lasting peace in the Horn of Africa region including in peace efforts for the Southern Sudan and Somalia.




Kenya Embassy, Stockholm: Birger Jarlsgatan 37, 103 95 Stockholm. Tel: +46 (0)8 218300-9 Fax: +46 (0)8 209261, Email:

©2017 Design by: Safimedia