Devolved Government

Kenya has a National Government and a Devolved system of Government consisting of 47 county governments where each consist of a county assembly and a county executive. Every county government has decentralised its functions and the provision of its services to the extent that it is efficient and practicable to do so.

To view details about 47 County Governments of Kenya, click County Governments

The governments at the National and County levels are distinct and inter-dependent and shall conduct their mutual relations on the basis of consultation and cooperation. A National State organ shall ensure reasonable access to its services in all parts of the Republic, so far as it is appropriate to do so having regard to the nature of the service.


Governance Structure